Penn Can Mall jingle used elsewhere + site updates

I just wanted to let everyone know that I do have some updates coming soon. I’ve been getting several items from Jason Beard (who has a large collection of Syracuse memorabilia) and will most likely be getting more in the near future. I’ve already posted some of the things I’ve gotten from him (most recently some stuff from WSTM’s Saturday Showboat). However, some of the items I’ve gotten from him will not fit in their own category, so I’m waiting until I have enough things to make a “various items” page.

I’ve also just recently purchased a large collection of Beta tapes, and have just started to go through them. It will probably be quite awhile before I start posting any clips from these tapes. I’ve only checked out a few so far, and they seem to include a mix of HBO movies and broadcasts from local channels. I have already found a Switz’s commercial and a Marketplace Mall commercial, so I’m hoping there will be more cool local footage on some of these tapes.

Here’s a fun fact about Penn Can Mall that I hadn’t heard before:
Rich Borosky recently sent me an e-mail to let me know that the Penn Can Mall jingle (two versions of this are posted near the top of the main Penn Can Mall page) was also used in 1975 for a department store in Buffalo called AM&A. Since Penn Can opened in 1976, I have to assume that the jingle was used for AM&A first. Rich was also nice enough to send me a copy of the AM&A jingle. Click on the link below (or right-click and save) to check it out.

AM&A Department Store jingle

Just a reminder – I am still looking for contributions for the site. If you have any Syracuse area memorabilia – including photos, documents, audio or video, please send me an e-mail at theaudacityny@lycos.com.

Thanks,
HAM
Penn Can Mall
Syracuse Nostalgia

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

